June 2017





Join Us

No Experience Necessary

3rd Sunday
 of the Month

Email - Quiltnro@optonline.net
or call
631  849-2236

Temple Beth Emeth
52 Mt. Sinai Avenue
Mount Sinai, NY 11764


A yahrzeit is an anniversary of a death of a loved one. Jews commemorate a yahrzeit by lighting a small candle, called a yahrzeit candle, which burns throughout the 24-hour day of the anniversary of death. The flame of the candle is a potent symbol of the flame of life that once burned brightly and illumined the lives of loved ones who mourn the loss.


To honor the loved one, it is customary to give a donation to a synagogue fund in memory of a loved one at the time of a yahrzeit. Although it’s typical to make donations in multiples of $18 (the numeric value of the word “chai” or life), other amounts are welcome.

Yahrzeit Memorial Plaque

If you wish to create a permanent remembrance to a loved one, you may wish to have their name commemorated on one of our yarzheit memorial plaques on our Memorial Boards outside the sanctuary. For a donation of $200.00, we will inscribe your loved one’s name on the plaque, light the light next to the plaque every year of their yahrzeit, and automatically include your loved one in our congregation’s annual Yom Kippur Book of Remembrance.

June 2, 2017

Anna Block*

Herbert Mittleman*

George Osleeb*

Gertrude Friedman Roteman*

Harry Urbach*


June 9, 2017

Jodi Sue Cohen*

Sidney Felsher

Mildred Golden*

Henry Gursky

Melvin H. Laine*

Rita Pomeranz

Bella Richman*


June 16, 2017

William Bartfield*

Mary Schulman  Eichel

Emanuel N. Feigin*

Erma Friedman*

Victor Kandel


June 23 2017

John H. Butzke*

Anna Dreishpoon*

Abraham I. Kaplan*

Irving Klein

Elliot Klein

Rosalie Kushins

Margaret Robles


June 30 2017

Miranda Broderick*

Rose Friedman DeMeo*

Joshua Eagle*

Florence Friedman*

Meyer Marchluk


*indicates plaque in sanctuary


Temple Beth Emeth of Mt. Sinai

PO Box 409

Mount Sinai, NY 11766

Phone: 631- 928-4103631- 928-4103(631) 928-4103



Rabbi Shalhevet: RabbiShalhevet@tbemtsinai.org

Cantor Green: cantorgreen@tbemtsinai.org

Matt Fox President@tbemtsinai.org

Chairs: Amy and Debbie:schoool@tbemtsinai.org

Marty Kaplan: Membership@tbemtsinai.org